The Egyptian Pound

Travel Info October 28th, 2007

Egyptian pound

The Egyptian pound, known in Arabic as the gunaih is the currency of Egypt. Every one pound is divided into 100 piastres. Locally, the abbreviation L.E., which stands for livre égyptienne (French for Egyptian pound) is frequently used while the international standard code for the currency is EGP. Banknotes which currently in circulation are 5, 10, 25, 50 piastres, 1, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, and 200 pounds. Notes of 25 piastres and above are issued by the Central Bank of Egypt, while 5 and 10 piastres are issued by the Ministry of Finance. The Central Bank website put the two lower valued notes under the category “coins” instead of “banknotes”. I am not sure whether they have coins or not but I have not seen a single coins of Egyptian pound while in Cairo last few months.

EGP1.00 =  USD0.1810 (Exchange rate on Oct 26)

Leave a Comment